Advertisements

New MG4 EV full review – the cheapest 300 mile electric family car

Advertisements

You're watching New MG4 EV full review – the cheapest 300 mile electric family car

Vistas: 0

Added 1 year ago
Comment

Rate:

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...
( 0 %)

  1. Mixie Palms says: September 2nd, 2022 at 1:48 pm

    i am a falconer that needs boot space and range! our hawks need a big boot! hopefully fossil fuels will stay.

  2. After sales and UK dealer network?

  3. Simon Canfer says: September 2nd, 2022 at 1:49 pm

    Really good review, great to see cars like this that Hyundai used to offer. 5 years on from our Ioniq, this offers twice the range, faster acceleration and twice the charging speed for the same money. What’s not to like?

  4. front end reminds me of that new lotus suv

  5. Colin Renfrew says: September 2nd, 2022 at 1:53 pm

    Game changer.

  6. I’d go for this as 2nd car along our Model Y but my wife is one of those brand snobs you mention 🙈

    I think you can excuse some of the shortcomings because of its (comparably) affordable price

  7. claretbuck1882 says: September 2nd, 2022 at 1:55 pm

    MG all day loved my zs 👍🏻

  8. I used to watch fully charged for this stuff..but Jonny is far better.

  9. Only Jonny would rip hub caps off 💪👍

  10. Wolfgang Messer says: September 2nd, 2022 at 1:58 pm

    The Ora Funky Cat First Edition with the smaller 48 kWh battery will start at £31,995 (on-the-road) – so no real competitor. And you won’t get the new MG5 before spring 2023.

  11. Does it have a gearbox then??

  12. Robbie Handley says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:00 pm

    Great review Jonny as ever. In answer to your question in the video, i would much prefer to drive something like this vs an ID3 at the price point. If i was going down the EV route (which i will be in about 18 months), MG is a brand i’d give serious consideration to. It’s great value for money by the looks of it, decent design and the interior really does it for me. As someone who has a few other cars for my weekend fun, i could well see myself in this as a daily.

    Like you mention at the end, me 8 years ago would have gone for a badge that looks cool (Audi, BMW), but i’m just not convinced by those brands when it comes to EVs or quality anymore. I think i’d now prefer a top spec "lesser" badge than a rubbish spec "top" badge.

  13. Mach-E(zor)GT says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:03 pm

    I so wish we would get cars like this in the U.S.! Lower-cost, smaller EVs with interstate range. We don’t even get the ID.3.

  14. Electroplank says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:03 pm

    I’m putting money away each month with the intention of buying an electric car. realistically that won’t be for at least 3 years. I’d love A kia or Hyundai but i can only dream at those prices. this car is now my favourite that is actually achievable within my potential budget. obviously other cars will be available by then but if i had the cash I’d buy it today. I’m quite impressed.

  15. I’m very impressed with the MG4 and the price point means I could seriously consider one as our everyday car, but I struggle to feel comfortable with engaging with a country that has such grotesquely regressive attitudes to human and animal rights. MG is owned by SAIC, who are state owned, so buying this product effectively enables genocide. I’m not sure I could live with that for the sake of saving a few quid.

  16. great video you made my tea come out my nose (I am captain America ) lol

  17. Michael Goode says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:06 pm

    Looks interesting but at least on video the centre screen with that row of buttons beneath just looks rubbish. How do those buttons work? Haptic or proper switches?

    I’d be fine with an MG or a Hyundai but I don’t need 200 miles of range and I feel that I’d rather pick up a used VW eGolf.

  18. Looks pretty cool

  19. Not a fan of the styling on the rear personally, sounds like a good EV though price considering overall. I wonder how many aero alloy disks will end up in hedges in the future! 😉

  20. Had an MG ZS ev for over a year and absolutely love it, and I’m a big petrol head with a few classics. For moving the family around I just can’t fault it.

  21. SirLoinOfsteak85 says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:15 pm

    My main problem with the MGs are I just hate how they look. They’re all so dull… This one is actively ugly to my eye, while still managing to be quite dull.

    I’d try and go Cupra Born if I could, and failing that the Corsa E.

  22. Okay, very nice car, but a Chinese Car with ‘over the air’ updates genuinely worries me, – how ‘electronically’ secure are they ?

    ‘Could’ a Chinese Government that wanted to take over Taiwan hold every MG Driver in the UK and around the World to Ransom ?

    ‘Allow us to ‘Soft’ Invade Taiwan, or we disable every Chinese Built Car on the Planet’ ?

    (Ransom-ware style)

    Could they threaten to ‘Brick’ them, and make them unusable, – or does the Software in such vehicles have to pass any sort of Standard level of Security from abuse ?

    I’m thinking of Huawei, and the fact that their kit was eventually blocked from our 5G Networks, because of the threat of ‘outside interference’ that they allowed …

    And I know that a lot of Chinese-built hardware is included in other people’s cars, but presumably their Managements and Security departments do not owe their Allegiance to the Chinese Communist Party ?

    This is a genuine question from someone with an interest in Geopolitics, – so I’m not asking ‘would they’ – but ‘could’ they ?

    Because if they ‘could’ disable every car, then presumably the temptation will one day be that they (or someone else) one day ‘will’.

  23. The Chinese government sure know how to make a nice car.

  24. John Carter says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:22 pm

    I’m a ZS EV owner and love it . This looks superb . I hope it’s screen is more responsive as that’s my only gripe with my ZS

  25. Ugly Chinese car with a square steering wheel.Its cheap for a reason.

  26. If the MG5 looked like the Peugeot 508 I’d be there

  27. wow didnt know you had your own channel? subbed..lovely car that is.

  28. Michael Summers says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:26 pm

    I’ve driven the ZS & thought it was pretty good but this one looks like a very worthy contender indeed. One thing I do not like is those leads popping up through looking like a poor diy charging option. Come on MG wireless chargers are a must nowadays.

  29. Jasper van der Zon says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:26 pm

    I like the design nice and mayby it is a good car. As it was NOT a Chinees MG I had buying it.

  30. It seems to me that the vehicle has to be charged about every 180 miles (10 to 80%) for between 35 minutes and one hour while driver and passengers have to sit and wait, because a full charge from zero to 100% is over 7.5 hours.
    If I drive hard, zero to 60 mph in 7.9 seconds all the time will I still get 285 miles range, or does the economic cruising assume gentle and slow driving to look at the birds on the way?
    With WEF fans threatening only zero pollution on the road by 2035, it suggests even hybrids may be sent to the scrap heap.
    The lack of driving range and return on a single charge with cost trillions in lost man hours, strand many caught with and extra side trip or pick-up, and leave many women with kids or single women sitting for hours in isolated refuelling stations, fully automated unmanned, with no ability to escape danger and requiring exiting a locked vehicle to disconnect. High security risks the electric car and recharge industry will blame criminal types for, when it is just bad planning.

  31. Lewis Holland says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:28 pm

    Front end has a bit of Lexus LFA and Toyota GT86 about it 👍🏻

  32. Scott Reska says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:28 pm

    I think this would be a good start to get MG back in the States. Good looking car inside and out. Would give the Koreans a run for their money.

  33. I really really like this, and I drive an MGF…
    I also had a 14 plate Zoe that died on me – an electrical issue in the motor that resulted in it being written off. So I have no desire to buy another one.

  34. kalle klovn says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:29 pm

    If i ever buy an Electric car or even have the money for it, wich i don’t ,this car is aces.

  35. Richard Ward-Jackson says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:29 pm

    Active grilles = Bear Grylls

  36. The ID would wish it looked like that.
    Great specs. V2L is nice too.

  37. Ryan O'connor says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:30 pm

    Lovely drive in and around the Oxfordshire/Buckinghamshire country side ! The car is unreal !

  38. Stunning value. Seriously tempted. Crash safety is my only concern, putting my family in it. Absolute no brainier for some people though. Vehicle to load a luxury nice to have.

  39. ChargeheadsUK says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:33 pm

    2nd review I’ve watched, clearly Jonny’s review always is best! 👏
    Already thinking the SE long range model 18 to 19 inch forged or light wheels in anthracite / matt grey wheels with a slight drop and potentially some spacers and it will be best value and look the part. I can’t help but modify 😉⚡💯

  40. Marcus Outdoors says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:34 pm

    VW will be very worried, a basic ID3 costs considerably more and simply doesn’t have the range.

  41. Dimitar & Lidija Berberu says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:35 pm

    Please stop the archaic nonsense. The whole world has standardised metric KILOMETERs. I’m sick of ignorance of standards.
    Mi estas ĉi tie ĉar mi interesiĝas pri plej valora praktika Elektra Veturilo 🙂

  42. Wally Blackler says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:36 pm

    Johnny I heard that some places in Europe is cheaper to fill your car with petrol to charge it

  43. Robson Rover Repair says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:36 pm

    Good luck getting one. They closed their order books this week with the semi conductor shortage. The photo from China car news as they left Shanghai in early August was the entire UK allocation until 2023. Was in the dealer today asking about them myself and checking towbar rating compatibility for the towing company I work for. But these are definitely definitely heading the right direction. If it could get to 400 miles it would genuinely be ideal. Maybe future version.

  44. As usual a terrific review of an outstanding motor journalist! One comment: please do not use those tables with lot of statistics and numbers. You’re explanation takes up the important facts leave the rest out or use some scrolling text. Tables are almost unreadable on a mobile phone. Probably better on big screen but hey we live in the mobile era now.
    Keep up the good work and see you soon!

  45. Thanks for another great and informative video Jonny. The only thing that seems to let it down is the badge. The MG badge just seems odd 🤔

  46. Great spec for the price. Pretty ugly car though… why does good value always result in worse design.

  47. wayne tennant says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:42 pm

    Don’t buy this cccp shit. You should be ashamed for advertising it.

  48. STEVE MCGOWAN says: September 2nd, 2022 at 2:44 pm

    This is the way to go,competively priced with practical specs .And what a great review the best I’ve for this car.

  49. Wait, is that a ‘quartic’ steering wheel…?! 🧐

  50. Those wheels look pretty good on their own, what’s the point of the plastic wheel trims, just lethal frisbees if they become airborne at speed. In a few countries they have to be held in place with cable ties or bolted on. Memories of Mini hubcaps flying down the road.

SIMILAR VIDEOS

Bestselling Products

No products in this list yet!

.